Out now!

New album 'Forest Psalms'

I'm pleased to share some details on my upcoming album 'Forest Psalms', which will be released on April 21st on Dragon's Eye Recordings, who also released 'Pause' back in 2015.

The compositions that constitute Forest Psalms originates from a collection of field recordings made during two trips to the United States in 2015 and 2016.

The album was slowly sculpted during 2016-2017 in Copenhagen, Denmark, where additional music was composed. In the opening track however, Hellkvist introduces snippets of an old piece hailing all the way back from when he first ventured into making minimal electroacoustic music about 15 years ago.

”It has stuck with me for all these years, so I’ve been waiting for a moment where I could make use of it. This time it fitted surprisingly well into the puzzle. My creative process is a lot about making bits and pieces blend and work well together, and sometimes those follow me around for years. Sometimes they vanish after a day or a week”.

In Forest Psalms, Hellkvist explores awareness in different spaces, and the listening experience is designed to lead the audience into a state of mindfulness, total relaxation, and focus.

”By using geographical locations in my work, I’m able to revisit parts of my experiences. For me, sound is the most effective way to do just that. I was inspired to make this album after a trip to northern California where I, after a 2-day hike into the forest, came to experience a rare kind of stillness and desolation which really fascinated me. I think most of the music I make is some kind of attempt to recreate moments like these for me to revisit.”

Field recording locations:
Culver City, Los Angeles, CA; Topanga Canyon, CA; Big Sur, CA; and Big Pine Key, Florida.
Some complementary recordings were made around Sweden and Denmark.


  1. The Driver vs. The City
  2. Forest Psalm, Pt. 1: Nostalgia
  3. Forest Psalm, Pt. 2: Reveries
  4. Where No One Can Hear You
  5. Forest Psalm, Pt. 3: Rhythms
  6. Forest Psalm, Pt. 4: Desolation

Emmy Award nomination!

It's with great excitement and joy that I can announce that me and my colleagues have been nominated for an Emmy Award 2017 for the sound work we've done on the LEGO Star Wars: The Freemaker Adventures TV-series! 

The first season has been broadcasted worldwide on DisneyXD during the past few months, and the series has been nominated in 4 categories in total. We've been working very hard and know that people on all levels in this big project has done the same - script writers, producers, animators etc... Big thanks to WilFilm, Lucasfilm and LEGO - it's truly a pleasure working with designing sound worlds and creating foley to complement high quality animation work of this kind, and me and my colleagues are very excited to be on the forefront of what we love doing.

Hibernation II - mix

Check out this mix made by Stationary Travels, which connects music and artists from all over the world in a beautiful way.

It opens up with my own '5 am', followed by works from Hakobune (Japan), Andrew Tasselmyer (USA), Ten (England), Drombeg (Ireland), Bethan Kellough (USA), Siavash Amini (Iran), Lee Yi (Spain), Tomonari Nozaki (Japan) and Lyrae (Sweden).

INFO & PREVIEWS: 'Vesterhavet (Extended)' and 'Kaskelot: Reissue + Remixes'

I'm happy to once and for all officially confirm that both these albums will get released on January 31st, 2017 on Home Normal (CD+digital). For those of you who hasn't followed me throughout the years, I can tell you it's been a long ride back and forth for both albums and I'm very excited to finally be able to properly share them with you all.

The original release of 'Kaskelot' sold out back in 2011 and has been long out of print. Now it's been remastered and comes with 7 beautiful and unique remixes made by Jordan Sauer (Segue), Steve Pacheco, Simon Bainton, Porya Hatami, Chihei Hatakeyama, Jason Corder (offthesky) and Chris Herbert.

After self-releasing 'Vesterhavet' almost a year ago, I doubted the fact that it would get a physical release at all. However, for this new and extended version, I decided to remaster it and added a new track (Vesterhavet 6), and the digital version comes with an additional track - a beautiful remix by Warmth (who runs the excellent Archives label).

This is all happening because of Ian Hawgood, a patient man who has been such an amazing supporter of my work since day one. I'm very grateful that he continuously offers to release my music on his wonderful label. And in a sense, it now feels like these two releases has finally ended up where they should be.

For those of you who already bought the original version of 'Vesterhavet' from my Bandcamp, I will try to fix so that you get the new digital version for free. Expect an email during January.

You can pre-order the albums from Home Normal here:
Vesterhavet (Extended)
Kaskelot: Reissue + Remixes